If I Could Reach the Sun, I’d Hit it With a Bat

Another foreclosure, I'm sure.

Have you had one of those days when the sun was especially sunny, the birds were singing especially sweetly, and the children in your life smelled faintly of orange blossoms and peppermint?

Yeah, me neither. And let me tell you, today was distinctly not even close to one of those days.

My neighbor currently has his trailer parked in front of his house. Yeah, that’s a topic for a whole book: “Stupid Annoying Crap that Shouldn’t Bother Me But It Does Anyway so Shut Up About It Already.” I’m up to chapter 31, if you’re a publisher looking for a sure-fire best seller.

Anyhoo.

The trailer in question has a spare tire on the back. The spare tire has a tire cover on it that stares me square in the eye, whether I’m pulling out of my driveway or coming back home. Said cover states: “life is good.” Clever, the lack of capitals.

However, I beg to differ. As Eric Idle sings in the finale of Monty Python’s “Life of Brian:”

Life’s a piece of shit
When you look at it

But perhaps a more healthy view is one I came across last week:

Life is Hard.
God is Good.

Don’t get me wrong. There are parts of life that are spectacular. The birth of a child. The wonder of traveling for no other reason than to just go. Singing a really great song at the top of your lungs, without caring who hears you or what they think of your rendition. There are good moments.

But life isn’t meant to be all good. Ray Charles summed it up best when he said, “There’s nothing written in the Bible, Old or New testament, that says, ‘If you believe in Me, you ain’t going to have no troubles.’”

And by the way: the neighbor’s trailer? The AC leaks water into the trailer, and the gauge for the septic system only reads to half-full (even when it’s about to overflow). Hee hee.

Oh, the smell from my house? That’s the kids. And it ain’t orange blossoms and peppermint. Not this week. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

