Climbing the Hill

“Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you’ll be able to see farther.” J. P. Morgan

I’m 1200 miles away from home today, visiting family. Yet I’m still able to work on the road. Is the new millennium great, or what?

Well, the new millennium is great if you’re a workaholic, or if you’re born into the wired age, where free time and work time have become blurred.

I’m an old guy (well, 40+), but I’m a tech geek and a kid at heart, so I’m in that in-between spot of all-access vs. privacy. Trips like this test my desire to separate work and home life and the sensibilities I was raised with. Growing up, work was done at work, and vacation was vacation, and that’s all there was to it.

So I’m getting a grasp on where social media is going, and how it’s defining our personal lives and work lives. Doing some “work” on the road is a way of trying out some of these new frontiers and helping me to define some of the limits I need to make in my life.

I can’t see where all this technology is going. I don’t think anyone really can, at this point. So I need to heed the words of J.P. Morgan: “Go as far as you can see.” Aim for that distant hill and start walking.

I’m currently climbing the face of that hill. I can look back and see where I’ve come from, as well as see many of the paths I chose not to take to get here.

And when I get to the top of this hill, I’ll see new things. I’ll pick a new hill. And I’ll start all this over again. Lather, rinse, repeat.

Have you looked up and noticed the hill you’re moving toward? And are you preparing yourself for what might be over the crest of that hill…or will you set up camp right before the top and just look back at where you’ve come from?

Leave a Reply

