My Life is Returned to Me

Once again it’s seemed like I’ve fallen off the face of the earth. I’ve returned!

First step: tonight I finished my latest term in grad school. All chapters read, all projects in. And a week off before starting the next term!

Second (and more important) step: about a month ago, we finally hired a live-in nanny to help us with the boys and the house. What a phenomenal difference…mostly because we held out (interviewed for 3 months!!) and hired a phenomenal young lady. I’ll call her MC Chill, as she’s from Minnesota. Well, there’s other reasons I’ll call her that, but that’s neither here nor there.

Sufficed to say she is not cold or frosty; on the contrary, she is about the happiest, perkiest, most bubbly person this area of Southern California has seen. Very Minnesotan—although she begs to differ. She doesn’t hear her own accent, which I find endearing. But the most important thing is that she loves the boys, and they adore her.

Amazing to us, she arrived on a Saturday night, and by early that following week she had made friends and was going out to the movies and such. After a month, she’s got a whole clique (or is it a crew? I’m so out of touch…), a best friend she hangs out with constantly (in person and on the phone), and her own life. I lived in Norway for a year and hardly knew anyone. Therein lies one difference.

But it is weird to have a nineteen year old young woman in the house. She’s not our daughter (although she could be…just barely) but some of the issues we’ve come upon are almost as if she is. She’s already secured the interest of the guys in the area, although she seems pretty aloof about that.

Well, it should be an interesting year.

=======

Speaking of interesting, the Foo Fighters snuck out another album under the radar. Awesome stuff. The first song to bring tears to my eyes is called “Come Alive,” and I’m still trying to discover its hold over me. A few lyrics:

Seems like only yesterday life belonged to runaways
Nothing here to see, no looking back
Every sound a monotone, every color monochrome
Life begin to fade into the black…
Desperate, meaningless, all filled up with emptiness
Felt like everything was said and done

I lay there in the dark, I close my eyes
You saved me the day you came alive
The reason you left me to survive
You saved me the day you came alive

Leave a Reply

