Live for Life II concert

When: Sat, July 8, 2006, 7 PM

Where:
Crossroads Community Church
1221 Calle Suerte
Camarillo, CA

Contact: Edd Hendricks,
805-300-4417
Edd_Fear@yahoo.com

Cost: free (donations accepted)

Two guitars in one! Ain't I cool?!?

As you might have gathered from this blog, I’m waiting to get a liver transplant. Very expensive, that. And although I’ve got great health insurance to cover the operation and the medications, there are a ton of other expenses involved, initially involving accommodations for my family and the donor’s family closer to hospital when the time comes to go under the knife. There’s also the medication co-pays (that will add up quickly!), and covering various household expenses as the donor and I recover, before we can return to our respective jobs.

But while I’m still reasonably healthy, I’ve got the time, talent, venue, and friends to put on an evening of music, in an effort to raise these additional funds. So come on out for a free night of good tunes, and if your heart and budget allow, donate to the cause.

The fundraising is being run through the National Transplant Assistance Fund (NTAF), which allows any contribution to Edd’s fund to be tax deductible. For more information on NTAF, see their website at http://www.transplantfund.org.

=====================

What can I expect at this concert?

Shleppa Leppa's in da house!

Two rock bands (a four-piece and power trio) playing a variety of tunes from the eighties, nineties, and today.

But surely you’re all just a bunch of amateurs!
The opening band is a little more “raw,” consisting of myself and one of my best friends Mark, who has been playing bass alongside me off and on for over ten years, as well as our friends Jarvis (a religion professor at California Lutheran University) playing guitar and Mike (the president of a mortgage and financial services company) on drums.

The second band includes Keith Coble on bass–he did the “pro band gigging around LA and the colleges in the 80s” thing, although he does now have a “respectible” job–and Matt Villa on drums. Matt is a twenty-something up-and-coming rhythm monster who currently records and tours with his band Calcutta, in addition to teaching drum lessons and working a full-time job. And ladies: he is the only unmarried one of our entire bunch!

As for me, I got my first guitar at age 6 and haven’t put it down since. In the early 90s I recorded and toured with a Seattle-area band called System 7, then moved to LA to get married, where I played the club-and-party circuit with a power trio, Pacific Fear. Between my health issues, growing family, and job in the videogame industry, I haven’t been in a “regular” band in several years, but my arsenal of equipment continues to grow (much to my wife’s dismay). I try to corral a group of good musicians together every so often for a special occasion…like this concert!

How can contribute to Edd’s fund?
There are three ways to do this:
1. For donations via credit card, go to http://www.transplantfund.org, type “hendricks” in the Find a Patient field, and follow the directions on the web site.

2. For donations via check, make the check out to “NTAF” and put “In Honor of Edd Hendricks” in the memo field, and mail it to: NTAF, 150 N. Radnor Chester Road, Suite F-120, Radnor, PA 19087.

3. Finally, come to the concert! There will be people there to answer your questions and help you with any donations via cash, check, or credit card.

Why is this concert free? (Or, why not just sell tickets to the event and use that money?)
The main answer is that, while I’m reasonably healthy, this event is a thank-you for the people that have supported me and my family the last couple of years. It’s important to me that those around me know that I truly appreciate their support through all this. Music is my blessing in life; sharing music with others is my gift to them.

Secondly, I don’t want anyone to skip coming to this show just because of a financial problem, either long- or short-term. If someone can find some enjoyment in what I’m giving, I don’t want any barriers between us.

Finally, my fear is that if I assign a fixed amount of money to the show, that becomes the bar that we shoot for. If, for example, I “sell” 300 tickets at $10 each, that’s $3000. Pretty good money, really. But if some large-hearted (and deep-pocketed) people show up, chances are they’ll donate more than the cost of the ticket I’d have charged them, to the tune of a few hundred (or even a few thousand) dollars.

True, I could end up getting no donations, and quite frankly, I’m okay with that. But I believe that when people are asked to do good and allowed to follow their own hearts, they can surprise even themselves.

Leave a Reply

